Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Well, what do I do about this?

Mon, July 26, 2010 9:09:17 PM
Notice of Intellectual Property-Trademark Name
Angela <info@ygnetwork.cn>
Add to Contacts
To: masqthephlsphr@yahoo.com

Dear Manager:

We are a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in Shanghai, China. On July,27th,2010, We received HUATAI Company's application that they are registering the name "atpobtvs" as their Internet Trademark and "atpobtvs.cn","atpobtvs.com.cn" ,"atpobtvs.asia"domain names etc.,It is China and ASIA domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!

Kind regards

Angela Zhang

Angela Zhang
Registration Department Manager
3002, Nanhai Building 854.Nandan Road
Xuhui District, Shanghai
Office: +86 216296 2950
Fax: +86 216296 1557
Email: info@ygnetwork.cn
web: http://ygnetwork.cn
web: http://www.ygnetwork.cn



( 23 comments — Leave a comment )
Jul. 27th, 2010 01:51 pm (UTC)
Now that is just weird. I just saw the exact same thing (different domain) on a different post.
Jul. 27th, 2010 01:58 pm (UTC)
So are we thinking spam??
Jul. 27th, 2010 02:01 pm (UTC)
Jul. 27th, 2010 02:03 pm (UTC)
People have too much time on their hands.
Jul. 27th, 2010 03:45 pm (UTC)
I'm thinking they hope to get some money somehow.
Jul. 27th, 2010 01:52 pm (UTC)
A WHOIS query suggests ygnetwork.cn doesn't exist. My guess is that it's a scam trying to "sell" you a whole bunch of atpobtvs.??? domains
Jul. 27th, 2010 02:00 pm (UTC)
It sounded more like they wanted to register that domain themselves and wanted to give me the heads up in case I owned it. I do have atpobtvs.COM registered, but it is the very definition of a not-for-profit.
Jul. 27th, 2010 02:07 pm (UTC)
I still think it's a scam. They find random owner of xyz.com and email them to say random_chinese_company wants to register xyz.cn, xyz.asia etc and ask the owner of xyz.com to contact them. Next step is to tell you that as owner of xyz.com you have first dibs on xyz.cn etc and you can register them through them for a fee.
Jul. 27th, 2010 02:18 pm (UTC)
Yeah, 'cause I'm thinking of expanding my fan website WORLD-WIDE!

Except for that part where anyone in the world can already access it as it is.
Jul. 27th, 2010 02:21 pm (UTC)
Yes, I had something similar a few years ago for my website - except I think it was an actual letter, and I don't think it was allegedly coming from China.
Jul. 27th, 2010 02:43 pm (UTC)
An actual letter would have been scarier.
Jul. 27th, 2010 02:22 pm (UTC)
I got an email like this a few months ago for my design business web site. I assume it's some sort of scam--probably they're squatting on domain names in China, hoping that their fishing occasionally leads them to a company that actually cares and will pay them for it. For me, I don't even own the .com and .org versions of my domain name, and I'll never do business in China, so why would I want the .cn? That was a simple decision.

(Addendum: Now that you asked, I did what I didn't do before, and googled about it. Here are a couple of articles/discussions about this scam: scammy scammers 1, scammy scammers 2.)

In short, I think you're safe ignoring it!
Jul. 27th, 2010 02:24 pm (UTC)
Yeah, it's a bit silly since it's a fan site and I couldn't profit off of it if I wanted to. All I want is to keep the name registered to myself so my readers know where to go.
Jul. 27th, 2010 02:32 pm (UTC)
Yep, I think it is a semi-scam trying to sell you domain names you'd scarcely want.
Jul. 27th, 2010 02:42 pm (UTC)
Then what am I supposed to do with these sudden ambitions of WORLD DOMINATION!!!1!!???
Jul. 27th, 2010 03:01 pm (UTC)

You just need the World Domination domain name - .wd.omg
Jul. 27th, 2010 04:18 pm (UTC)
It's a scam.


And here's an article about ygnetwork.cn:


The English in the article is flawed but the analysis is spot-on. There is a LOT wrong with Angela Zhang's e-mail. Don't believe it for a second.
Jul. 27th, 2010 04:25 pm (UTC)
Even if I believed it, it wasn't really relevant to me anyway. And if it were legit, nothing applied to my little fannish situation.
Jul. 27th, 2010 04:58 pm (UTC)
Definitely just spam. Also I don't know wtf they mean by "internet trademark".
Jul. 27th, 2010 04:59 pm (UTC)
Jul. 28th, 2010 12:26 am (UTC)
Yep, I too have encountered that scam before.
Jul. 28th, 2010 03:09 am (UTC)
Scam,Scam,Scam,Scam / Scam,Scam,Scam,Scam
Scamity-scam, Scamity-scam!!

Yum! I'll have Scam, eggs, bacon and Scam!

( -or not- )
Jul. 28th, 2010 03:20 am (UTC)
I'll have green eggs and scam, Sam-I-am!
( 23 comments — Leave a comment )